Some people believe that the best way to increase road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving cars. To what extent do you agree or disagree

In order to reduce the likelihood of road accidents, announcing a rise in the legal age of drivers and riders is considered to be the most effective measure by a few individuals. In my perspective, however, this would not guarantee one hundred percent on- road safety, therefore, other actions corporating implementation of traffic control policies along with provision of adequate roads prerequisite to lessen the number of road accidents. Certainly, the fact cannot be denied that mature drivers are lesser prone to encounter collisions than immature ones. The rationale behind this could be the experience that they have had which acts as a defender in the situation when either minor or major unfortunate events are about to occur. An exemplification of this could be the cases when any stray animal suddenly comes in front of the vehicle; at that time a skilled, competent driver might handle the situation more efficiently and effectively as compared to the novice. Thus, it appears that if age for getting driving licence is risen up from 18 to at least 22, there might be minimum prospect of mishaps occuring on the roads. However, this cannot be an all-time scenario. In certain circumstances, it is witnessed that the prime factors contributing road accidents are not always the immaturity of driver or rider, but the poor road condition coupled with traffic congestion. Therefore, mere an increase in legal age of driving cannot completely assure safety on roads, rather government had better improve the condition of roads so that neither the person who is driving nor the common citizen who is crossing the path has to experience any unforeseen incident. Additionally, stringent policies are required to be imposed to limit the bottleneck on roadways. For instance, high amount of fine must be charged from the people, not abiding by the traffic regulations for mitigating the root cause of many accidents. This would deter the individuals to violate any rule, as it is human instinct that the higher one has to pay, the more responsible one behaves. In short, on- road disasters cannot be controlled until and unless such types of initiatives are appraised. To conclude, it can be asserted that although the probability of security on roads can be encouraged by legally increasing the age of driving, to ensure an altogether safety, origin of the issue needs to be terminated for which suitable traffic regulating system and bump-free roads are must. Hence, I would say that an amalgamation of these measures is the best approach to follow.