During these days, celebrities become well-known for their wealth and glamourous lifestyles rather than what they do and achieve, and therefore, people say that this is a bad trend for children.

During these days, celebrities become well-known for their wealth and glamourous lifestyles rather than what they do and achieve, and therefore, people say that this is a bad trend for children. In my opinion, I agree with this view only to some extent. What I believe is that although some are really a bad figure for the youths, some others also exist as excellent role models. On the one hand, some people get famous just by luck or by their physical appearance without having any talent and without really working hard. They just become wealthy because their parents are originally rich, or they may marry a rich person, or sometimes they might do bad and illegal things; as a result, other people get the wrong idea by this. For example, some celebrities gain popularity from a gossip reality TV programme and they show off their lifestyles on social media and many young students feel envious of them. This is giving the young ones the wrong message and guiding them to the wrong way of worshipping materialism. What we really need to teach the children is that being wealthy and having a pretty face are not as important and essential as someone's good nature, mindset and character. On the other hand, some celebrities are actually well-respected for their great effort, admirable mindset and achievements. Some came from normal or low family backgrounds and did pave their own way. Moreover, some celebrities also make many positive contributions to society using their popularity and participate in the world's social issues as much as they can. They do show great persistence, perseverance, diligence and responsibility which are the real crucial skills to live life very well. A good example of this is the actor Jackie Chan who is a living figure of practice and hard work as well as good personality such as bravery and optimism. These kinds of celebrities are brilliant figures for teenagers and adults to develop a good attitude. In conclusion, I dare say that the influence of celebrities may be both positive and negative for young people depending on which kind of person they originally are.