Some people believe academic success depends mostly on having a good teacher. Others argue that it is the attitude of the student that matters most. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Academics make up the most important part of school life. Scoring well in such tests and excelling in the chosen subjects is a necessity in today's world. Blessed are the students who are taught by a good teacher. So, I think that academic success can only be achieved if a student's positive attitude is coupled with the teachings of an honest mentor. First of all, as students spend almost half of their day in school, a professor's influence on their lives is as great as that of their parents. Also, a pupil ends up liking a particular subject depending upon the way it is taught to him. For instance, my favourite subject in school was biology because I had an amazing teacher who made it very interesting and thus, I took up medicine as a profession. As a result, the importance of a tutor in shaping the success of his pupil cannot be stressed enough. Secondly, the amount of knowledge a student imbibes is dependent on how much attention he pays in class. His own approach to learning things, the hard work that he is ready to put in and the dedication with which he deals with such exams also play a big role in deciding whether he succeeds. Someone who is determined to succeed and thus, devotes most of his time to studying and revising the syllabus, definitely has higher chances of excelling in the exams. In conclusion, I would like to say that a good teacher as well as a student's attitude, are both equally important in succeeding academically. A devoted mentor teaches a subject in such a way that the disciples would like to study it and always encourages his disciples to put in their best efforts in everything they do in life.