Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships that people make? Has this been a positive or negative development?

In this day and age, the advent of technology has sharply superseded the dominance of in-person conversations and human activities in many ways. Most people think that automation technology is very useful for mankind. This essay will first discuss how technology has resulted in a rise in virtual relationships, and then discuss how this is considered a negative trend. On the one hand, technological development in communication technology has influenced the kinds of relationships amongst people in various ways, and perhaps most important these days is the appearance of virtual friends. In other words, they can interact with each other through online platforms without ever meeting, and this is becoming prevalent, especially among youngsters. For example, teenagers from all over the world, who are affected by Covid-19, can stay at home and make new friends, share common interests without any barriers, through some applications such as Tinder, Omegle, Facebook. Thus, intelligence technology has altered the way people interconnect. On the other hand, this trend is considered as a negative impact on human beings because having friends online means that people have fewer face-to-face meetings and this also has the result in isolating people and discouraging real interaction, especially shy people who seem to lack basic interpersonal skills and prefer to spend more time chatting with others. For example, because of the advancement of technology, many introverted people almost stay at home, stare at the phone chatting, and think that it is not necessary to talk in person in real life. This may lead them to be more isolated and lonely. In conclusion, the development of communication technology is considered a double-edged sword. It makes it easier for us to make new friends or communicate but it also creates shyness in real conversations.