Research into medical treatments are essential to improve health and fight disease. Who do you think should fund this research: individuals, private companies or governments?

The popularity of the modern lifestyle, as well as the deteriorating condition of the planet, has brought about the emergence of new kinds of diseases, not to mention the increasing prevalence of terminal illnesses among the population. It is undeniable that extensive research in the field of medicine is required to address these problems. However, these kinds of research are highly expensive, thus there is continuous debate as to whether the funding for the projects should come from individuals, private corporations, or governments. In this regard, I believe that government should take the lead, and this essay will discuss the reasons supporting my take. Firstly, despite private corporations having the capacity as well as the money highly needed to support such projects, they are basically running the business for profit and by no means they are going to do it for free. For example, many advancements of healthcare treatments and facilities today are developed by private companies, but the investments need to generate returns, resulting in the high price charged to the patient. Moreover, should the funding come from individuals, it would require enormous effort and time to generate an adequate sum to support these researches, thus ineffective. Furthermore, the most important aspect to consider is that healthcare should be accessible to everyone, hence it must be affordable. In other words, the government has to take the lead. For instance, the state may increase the budget allocated to medicinal research. Nonetheless, one may raise concerns about the availability of the state budget. In relation to that, the government may be able to make use of a public-private-partnership scheme, which will generate the required amount of money from private sectors, but retain the control of the price charged to end-user. To conclude, although the private sectors have the capacity to push medicinal progress rapidly, they have some drawbacks that will cost the patients. The state's intervention is crucial to minimizing the problems.