In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In some societies, children are taught that any goal is achievable with enough hard work. Despite the potential benefits, the philosophy of self-help can result in serious mental issues for many people. The most significant benefit of the emphasis on effort and achievement is that it can encourage young people to pursue their dreams. Hard work is thought to be one of the key factors in making individuals’ dreams come true and living their lives to the fullest. For example, professional footballers have spent many consecutive years honing their skills to become the top athletes. Without training and persistence, they never would have achieved such enormous success. Another positive aspect of this teaching is that people can have hope for the future. The author argues that telling children that effort leads to reward can encourage them to work hard day and night to achieve their goals instead of staying frustrated in their passivity. On the other hand, this approach has some demerits as well. Children may feel the pressure of being the only option for their parents to provide for. Children may work too hard in order to achieve a goal while being told that hard work can guarantee success. In some cases, the academic burnout might get to the point that some teenagers even commit suicide, to escape from this burden. Second, this teaching can hurt the self-esteem of those with unrealistic goals. It’s not simply a matter of hard work. For example, a person without a musical talent is unlikely to be a professional singer, no matter how much effort. Therefore, hard work is an essential ingredient to success, but supposing it is the sole factor for success can breed resentment and lead to frustration. In conclusion, although teaching children that hard work ensures achievement can be inspirational, it also possibly has negative mental impacts on those pursuing unattainable goals. Therefore parents and teachers should be careful using this philosophy.