The tendency of news media to focus on problems and emergencies rather than good news has a negative effect on individuals and society. Do you agree or disagree?

Journalism whether it is printed or electronic, mainly draw people’s attention towards the negative and urgent issues of surroundings instead of focusing on the positive aspects. In my perspective, such kind of inclination, instead of making the general public aware of these matters, target the psychological well-being of an individual along with creating a horrifying environment in society. It is indubitable that overexposure to news related to illegal acts can directly influence mental health. As when there is a constant hammering of the crime news, a sense of insecurity and fear is instilled. This eventually brings forth a terrible mental state that compels one to fantasize a scenario in which that person is being attacked, now and then, resulting in making a person prone to physiological illnesses, for instance, anxiety attacks, bipolar and depression. Hence, news media’s constant focus on criminal practices contributes to the ill-health of a common man. Not only the general public but society, as a whole, also experience an environment in which no one feels safe neither at home nor outdoors. The responsible factor of it is the concept of keeping follow-ups of criminal cases discussed in newspapers or news channels. Consequently, people, in the pursuit of defending themselves from criminals, unknowingly fall prey to indulge themselves in acts that are against law and order. An exemplification of this could be, as per a survey in which it was reported that 7 out of 10 individuals carry guns for self-defence, since civilians have no trust in the judicial system, creating a horrifying environment for others. To conclude, I reiterate that the pace at which news media is covering illegal practices of criminals and displaying these in front of the common public, adversely influence the mental wellness of a person, besides, make society a terrible place to live in. Thus, imposing some limitations on the illustration of crime-related news is advisable.