Some people think that schools should choose students according to their academic abilities, while others think it is better to have students of different abilities studying together. Discuss both views and state your own opinion?

Many people argue that schools should put pupils into mixed classes, while others believe that students should be streamed into classes that are suitable for their capacity. There are valid arguments on both sides which I will discuss now. On the one hand, there is a plethora number of reasons why people support the idea that mixed-ability classes might bring more benefits to schoolchildren. One of the main reasons is that students can become well-rounded individuals. This is because when learning with other classmates, they might learn from their friends and improve their weaknesses. For example, those who are proficient at maths but not good at literature or language can enhance their studying performance with help from their peers. Another reason is that student might form teamwork skills by cooperating with their friends during class which in turn enhance their interpersonal development. Despite the reasons I mentioned above, I hold a belief that schools should group their students according to their academic capacity. The main reason is to help the students progress at their own pace. This is because the teacher can design and deliver lessons in a way that they can absorb effectively. For example students with high academic ability can be assigned more advanced assignments which can help them progress faster. Furthermore, streaming students into a class can motivate them to study harder because when they can catch up with the lessons, they can put this knowledge into practice meaning that they can gain flying colour scores which can increase their self-esteem. In conclusion, although mixed-ability class models can exert positive impacts on the overall development of the student, it seems to me that students can gain more benefits and obtain more achievements in studying if teachers deliver lessons that are suitable to students ' capacity.