Nowadays some older people choose to live in retirement communities and centers with other people, rather than living with their adult children. Is this a positive or negative development?

In this modern era, some senior citizens are choosing to stay in infirmaries instead of living together with their families. This kind of situation can lead to both positive and negative effects on our societies and communities. In my humble opinion, I partly agree with this idea and I will explain more details in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, some retirement centres are famous for abusing older people in our communities. Although some governments are establishing new laws and regulations to prevent older people from abusing, people do less attention to these laws. In addition to this, abusing older people are difficult to investigate and track. For instance, the infirmary’s employees can be pretended as friendly and warmly where they are in front of the elder’s family. As a result, older people can be affected seriously by both physical and mental health. On the other hand, older people can get great benefits where they are staying together with peers of the same ages. They can reduce their stress by talking to each other and doing some light activities. Moreover, other family members can reduce taking care of their elders and they can pay more attention to their-work life balance. In addition, there are fewer abuse cases for older people compared to the past due to the rapid growth of technologies such as smart monitoring systems that can detect and alert the responsible person instantly. To conclude, older people caring centres have both benefits and drawbacks. In my opinion, governments should encourage older people to stay with their families and provide social security services. This kind of service can reduce not only a load of family members but also older people abusing cases in retirement centres.