In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or digsagree ?

Fast food has now become a staple for many people in urban areas who lead very fast-paced life. Its popularity has reached its peak with most of the younger generation opting for it more than the healthier options. But I can’t disagree more with the idea of imposing a higher tax on such eatables in order to dissuade individuals from consuming them. The main factors which contribute to my belief are that people should get to make their own choices when it comes to what they want to eat and it will also lead to a feeling of suppression amongst the population, similar to that of being ruled by a dictator. Let us look at each point in greater detail. Firstly, I agree that the most important factor which influences a person’s choice of diet is its price. And because junk food is comparatively cheaper and tastier, more people are tempted into having it. It is also a well-known fact that such type of junk increases the risk of non-communicable diseases like heart attacks and strokes by many folds. However, it will be wrong on part of the government to levy heavy taxes on such eatables because it will not only curb a person’s democratic rights but also reduce the business of the hoteliers dependent on selling those foodstuffs. On the other hand, the authorities should strive to create awareness about the side-effects of such an unhealthy diet by means of advertisements, posters and pamphlets. They can also encourage the consumption of healthier options like fruits and vegetables by subsidising those items. Additionally, they can advise doctors and health professionals to convince their patients into opting for better choices during every visit. To summarise, it is acknowledged that heavy consumption of junk eatables are creating a new epidemic of obesity and other diseases. But, the governing bodies cannot dictate their citizens into having healthier food. Instead, they should spread a good word about the same and help the public to make healthier options.