Tobacco, mainly in the form of cigarettes, is one of the most widely-used drugs in the world. Over a billion adults legally smoke tobacco every day. The long term health costs are high-for smokers themselves, and for the wider community in terms of health care costs and lost productivity. Do governments have a legitimate role to legislate to protect citizens from the harmful effects of their own decisions to smoke, or are such decisions up to the individual?

Many believe that governments should legislate the usage of tobacco for their citizens, while others think that this is a decision to make on your own. However, I strongly believe that, as we are a society, the autority should administrate this issue. First and foremost, it is widely known the harmful effects cigarettes can have among people, but adults still choose to use it, thus they became addicted. It is true that it may be a personal choice and even though it is a legal drug, the government is responsible for its citizens. For instance, it can legislate the usage of tobacco by restricting it in some areas, thus discouranging individuals to smoke all the time and encouranging them to take care of their health instead. Secondly, health costs related to smoking impact every citizen of the country. Moreover, emissions of CO2 resulting from cigarettes has global consequences and so does the costs of mitigating its consequences. So, as we all live as a community, every choice that may appear personal is in fact footprinting in every human being. For example, in France laws restrinct the usage of tobacco especially in nationals parks and also, they have very high taxes for tobacco to discourage people to smoke. To sum up, the authorities responsabilities are to establish laws that can mitigate the impact of harmful effects of smoking for its citizens, along with the health related costs that result from it.