International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is concern about the impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

In this modern era, international tourism has such a positive impact on many areas in the world, while some people argue that there would be an effect on local citizens and environment. Personally, I think that the positive impacts are far more than the disadvantages. On one hand, there would be a concern about the local environment which could be destroyed by the overflow of tourists. Although that place has its local regulations, some visitors may not follow the rules. For example, there are plenty of nice beaches including Ma-Ya beach which attracts a million people per year, and some parts of the nature on this island were destroyed by the visitors. Consequently, the beach had been closed and underwent the rejuvenation program. From this, it can be seen that the overwhelming of tourists from all around the world can cause many problems to the precious resources of the locals. On the other hand, international tourism means numerous people coming into the country which will bring a large amount of money to the locals. In other words, the entrepreneur and local businesses, such as shopping malls, hotel businesses, will definitely gain considerable benefits, consequently, most of the population in that region will be employed and these will be followed by economic growth. Additionally, this is one of the greatest ways to share the local tradition and culture with people from various countries. For instance, Thai foods such a Pad-Thai is one of the world’s famous plates. In conclusion, even though there would be some negative effects on the environment, the positive impacts of international tourism on the local economy and the dissemination of culture outweigh the disadvantages.