Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motorbike. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many folks believe that road safety could be increased by increasing the minimum age for a driving license to ride a bike or a car. However, this action could minimise the casualties on roads but it is not ideal to control the situation. On the one hand, increasing the minimum legal age for driving is a good idea because many youngsters do rough driving. Drifting and speeding are common for them to practise on a highway which is not good for them and others. As speeding is the biggest cause of road accidents as per the survey of the transportation authority of India. For instance, my neighbour's child hit his bike to a car because he was at a speed of more than 80km/hour and he failed to handle that speed. On the other hand, mature people use their vehicles to commute rather than take it as a sports activity. So, increasing the minimum legal age of driving increases mature drivers on the road. Although, it is not sufficient to reduce road accidents and the government have to take major steps. Transportation authorities have to understand that driving experience is directly proportional to driving safely and it is not directly attached to age. They have to give chance to young people to start driving but on without gear vehicles. Moreover, they try to increase surveillance on roads with the help of cameras and radars. In this way, they can push the drivers to ride their vehicles within the speed limit. For example, the Saudi road authority installed 5 lakh road surveillance cameras in the year 2019. As per their data, road accidents have been reduced by 50% due to this action. In conclusion, increasing the minimum legal age of driving might enhance road safety but it is not sufficient to control accidents as required. So, authorities must take more steps too.