In many countries traditional dress and costumes are considered effective ways of maintaining links with the past. How effective can traditional costumes be in the sense what are the ways it is to help citizens connect with the countries past

It is important to link ourselves with the historical and beautiful part of our country. It is undoubtedly that preserving the past is admirable as the world evolves so rapidly. However, it is true that traditional costumes play a key role but they are by no means the most effective way, as we shall see. First of all, traditional dress is considered the main role in social events such as religious rituals or military parades in which these events and costumes symbolise the culture of the country as different countries have respective customs and mythologies. They also remind us of the origins of our nation's cultural traditions. For example, in India, dhoti and saree are worn as symbols of their national costumes conserved from their ancestors. Undeniably, costumes are said to be necessary for these situations, however, they alone do not appear to maintain the links with the old ages. Furthermore, it seems that there are in fact much more effective ways than a dress. For instance, various countries have their own rich heritage of stories and folklore which reflect the birth and evolvement of their nation. Some of which are mythological but some grounded in truth such as robin hood and jack and the giant. Moreover, we should not forget the significance of art and music flowing through our tradition which is handed down between the generations and they change from time to time in forms from fine art to handicrafts, from opera to movies and films. Lastly, linguistic and literature can not be forgotten because they are more effective than costumes in multiple ways. To sum up, we must acknowledge the use of traditional dress and costumes in helping to link with our past but the fundamental of story, art and music would appear to help citizens in connecting with countries' antecedent ages.