In some countries, more and more adults are continuing to live with their parents even after they have completed education and found jobs. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Despite having concluded their studies and being employed, many grown-up persons still live at their parents ' house. While it is convenient or necessary for some people, it can be a hassle for others. The benefits and drawbacks of such a situation will be discussed in the following paragraphs. One of the biggest advantages of living with your parents is the economy. Rent, for example, is, if not the most, one of the most expensive bills for a person, which is much lower, if not inexistent, when you are living with your parents. In addition, we have household chores, such as cooking, shopping and cleaning, which can be divided among family members. For some people these aspects can be very deterministic when they are going through a delicate moment in their lives, such as illness, or unemployment. But also, the aforementioned aspects are very useful for some favourites of the younger ones, even when they are able to live alone, either because they are saving money or because of emotional connections with the family. Nevertheless, living with your parents may be considered a bad thing, especially within the western culture. This can be perceived as a lack of independence, which is a very important status indication for most people. Disregarding any cultural aspect, not living alone, for a single person, may not be good for personal development. They may have privacy issues, being powerless to make all decisions about their lives by themselves, without any outside influence, or even being unable to take care of themselves in some situations, such as travelling or even after the death of their parents. To conclude, despite having an education and being able to earn a living, many people live with their parents. This situation has both advantages and drawbacks. For some people, the benefits of living on their own might be necessary, so they become truly adults and independents. Nonetheless, for others, sticking to their parental homes has many benefits, or even essential when they are in difficult times.