In many modern societies, grandchildren rarely spend any quality time with their grandparents. What do you think are the consequences of this.

Nowadays, as parents leave their hometowns to the urban city for a better life, their children are inevitably having less time with grandparents. In my personal opinion, there are some ramifications that may entail to both two generations if the younger ones cannot spare some time with the older ones. First of all, the older generations may suffer from mental illnesses if they do not have their children or grandchildren around. This is because humans are social animals, which they need to socialize with other people so as to have a feeling of being alive. On this account, the elder individuals, most of them retired, who live alone and have less social activities may develop a sense of loneliness, which may in the long run lead to depression. Another possible problem is that young generations may know less about their family backgrounds, which could bring about self-unawareness. Due to the gulf of age, there is essentially a barrier to communication between grandchildren and their grandparents. If children are not willing to spend time with their grandparents, the elderly will have fewer chances to talk about their family history, which is usually discussed verbally because the older generation knows less about modern communication tools. For example, even today it is rare to see an older person using social media such as Facebook or Instagram, or talking to other people through video communication. In conclusion, if younger generations refuse to accompany their grandparents, both the elderly and the young group will suffer from its ramifications, such as depression and self-unawareness.