More and more wild animals are on the verge of extinction and others are on the endangered list. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to solve this problem?

Both animals and plants are on the verge of extinction or are on the brink of it. The main cause of this, simply in one word is mankind. In the course of this essay, we shall dig deep into this and also look into possible solutions. First and foremost, overpopulation has caused humans to encroach on land, which was once free to animals and plants. However, now as mankind takes up more and more area, animals and plants lose their natural habitats, resulting in many conflicts between animals and humans. Over the past decades, we have witnessed the results of such altercations, with many species getting wiped out. For example, the Tasmanian Tiger, which was hunted to extinction in the mid-nineties. Fast forward to the year 2021, as of 29th September, the United States has declared a total of 23 birds, fish, and other species to be extinct. We, individuals, have not learned from our mistakes. In addition to this, the deforestation of the Amazon, which spreads over nine countries in South America, is being removed at a rapid rate, to meet the global demand for land, which many manufacturers require for allowing to establish their factories. Now let's look at some possible solutions. First and foremost, people should be educated on the importance of the existence of these creatures. The fact is each living beast, including us humans are interlinked. Therefore the loss of one will slowly result in the decline of the other. Secondly, natural animal sanctuaries need to be set up and closely monitored to prevent poachers. Lastly, the practices of zoos should be abolished, because whilst they help display the animals to humans, they are harmful to the animals. In conclusion, as mentioned earlier, mankind is the sole reason for this decline in the wildlife population worldwide. We need to understand that this world is meant for all of us, and as mentioned before, we are all interlinked to each other.