Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taugh to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Excessive competition has become a growing concern among some people, which brings them to advocate cooperation to be the major point to be taught in school. Nevertheless, others believe that competitive nature should be nurtured since childhood. I think both views are reasonable, and this essay will discuss that both should be taught in harmony. On one hand, children raised in a competitive environment often find themselves more confident as an adult. To put it into context, competing with others encourage children to put more effort into whatever they do. As a result, they will eventually be able to discover their strengths, thus raising their confidence. For example, most great football players acquire their refined skills not as a gift, but through discipline, intensive training, as well as a lot of matches. Furthermore, competition is only natural, as it is evident from a wide range of real examples, such as university entrance tests, job-seeking applications, even when aiming for promotion. On the other hand, as the world becomes more and more connected, being able to cooperate is inevitable. In other words, compared to the past, people of our generation are rather a specialist than a generalist, thus requiring cooperation to get things done. For instance, production can only operate with an uninterrupted supply of raw materials, which is handled by the procurement department. Moreover, should everyone be able to work together, harmony will be enhanced in the community as a whole. To conclude, whilst competition increase confidence and individual skill, cooperation allow people to specialize while achieving more. Hence, both should be taught and nurtured since childhood.