In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of aging populations.

In the modern world with the improvement in medical treatment and better nutrition, the human’s lifespan has significantly improved. while this is good news, the problems may be caused in some cases for both persons and the community. The causes of this appear to be focused on two areas and a number of solutions appear to be possible. Perhaps the major problem here is longevity has enhanced the government budget, such as retirement pension or suitable healthcare plan; However, this budget should provide from taxes this means more citizens and companies have to pay higher taxes. Another drawback is raise in life expectancy is a quantitative measurement of life. Age is a number and it does not depict all the aspects of life. Since the elderly are frailer and fragile, the incidence of diseases is higher amount them. for example, they may suffer from mental and physical ailments such as “Alzheimer”, a mental disease that forget all the last memories, or“Parkinson”, a physical problem with denied all the ability to use hands and legs. Turning to the possible solutions, an obvious step would be to authorities extent the retirement age standard. for instance, while in many nations the retirement age is 55 years old, it would be possible to enhance it until 60 years old if people have a healthy body. Although the public budget is under pressure these days, if governments took this step, it would greatly enhance the social welfare for people who are in the age of retirement. a second remedy might be providing subsidies for young people who take care of their parents with physical and mental disabilities. In summary, the factors of providing a budget for the welfare system and health problems related to age appear to be the main causes. Taking some actions by the government may well lessen the severity of this situation.