More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people suggest that the solution to this problem is to increase the price of fattening foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, there have been more people becoming obese, which can be solved by boosting the price of food containing fat. The writer, however, is not convinced by this assumption because of the unaffordable price for the lower class and a downward trend in the financial sector of food companies. Initially, it is crucial to understand that the higher the price of food, the more poor individuals cannot pay for a balanced diet. To explain in more detail, the poor often receive the average level of income or even a low-paid job. To a certain extent, on condition that the fattening food became more expensive, the lower class would not consume these kinds of food, resulting in a lack of fat in their body. For this reason, these individuals suffer from health issues associated with malnutrition. Additionally, should the government boost the cost of fattening food, the corporation producing food will experience a big loss. To be more specific, consumers reduce their demand for the intake of fat and spend less money on this type of food compared to other ones. Indeed, these companies have to fire numerous employees in order to rescue them on the market, leading to a higher rate of unemployment. Therefore, increasing the price of food containing fat may detrimentally affect the communities that rely on food production.    In conclusion, the government should not boost the price of fatty food due to an expensive diet for the poor to pay for and the big loss in food production. Hence, the writer emphasizes that the authorities can find other solutions to alleviate this problem instead of increasing the cost of fattening food.