Children nowadays watch significantly more television than those in the past, which reduces their activity levels accordingly. Why is this the case? What measures can you suggest to encourage higher levels of activüy among children? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience.

In the modern world, children tend to spend more time watching television, and hence their activity levels have dropped significantly. I think that a number of factors are responsible for this issue. One of the causes for this problem is the busy schedules of their parents. Nowadays these parents are having double shifts at their offices in order to provide the basic necessities of life to their children, thus no time for them. Therefore, young children end up watching TV and video games more frequently. To illustrate it further, their parents even after coming home are physically and mentally quite exhausted and they prefer getting their youngsters busy with gadgets so as to have some moments of relaxation. Another cause is the easy availability of good quality content on television these days. The majority of tv channels for children are designed in a way to suit their mentality. After a lot of research, these channels have successfully developed some beautiful and attractive characters and have presented these in the form of stories and rhymes, hence drawing intense attention from these children. Some solutions to this issue are as follows. Firstly, the parents should spare some quality time to indulge their young children in various healthy activities, for example, sports and a variety of brainstorming games to fulfil their physical and mental needs. Secondly, children should be encouraged to take part in extracurricular activities at their schools to promote health and fitness. To illustrate this, schools have a lot of facilities namely huge sports grounds and tennis courts etc. The parents should encourage their children to avail these worthwhile facilities. In conclusion, although the causes of this issue are obvious, I consider that if parents give time to their kids and play with them, their interest levels of active life would increase tremendously and they would start participating more in extracurricular activities to meet their goals of healthy development.