Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both view and give your own opinion.

Today's generation is termed as more environmentally aware compared to our forefathers. Which is in fact accurate as well as it is the need of the hour. Our home planet is undergoing one of the most severe climate changes in recorded history. Although we have a good number of people supporting the loss of particular species of plants and animals as the key factor, I disagree with the majority. I believe other problems such as industrialization have deeper impacts on the environment. Firstly, we must understand what effects does the loss of specific species of plants and animals cause. Numerous studies suggest that the loss of any type of living being would disrupt the immediate beneficiaries and in turn disrupt the entire ecosystem. However, in the entire documented history we have never seen such drastic impacts. Not only the claims for damages to the ecosystem are unproven but also the accusations for disturbing the food pyramid were found to be false. Therefore, it would be a safe bet to rule out the loss of species as a pivotal environmental problem. In contrast to the above claims, the impacts of industrialization have been proved and experienced by many of us. It might not be shocking nowadays to read the headlines about another piece of forest that was acquired by unethical means for the expansion of businesses. As the forest land has reduced we are facing an immense shortage of rainfall. In addition, disposing of the harmful waste in the environment by different means has made our worst fears come true. For instance, arctic ocean water near Norway was found to be 35% more polluted compared to 15 years ago. Thus, it seems pretty evident that industrialization has impacted mother earth. To conclude, I would reiterate that we should never ignore the effects of the loss of any particular species. But, there are many other factors that are causing more danger to the climate.