People say that it is a waste of time for high school students to learn literature at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is a controversial idea heating the debate over the fact whether literature is redundant for students in high school. While this thinking is valid to some extent, I would contend that learning literature is of necessity in the curriculum. It is irrefutable that science -based subjects are gaining more and more preference because of the ever-increasing need for technology development in today’s society. Science and Technology Development is one of the measurements of national prosperity. The more top-notch technology is, the more booming the country will be. In fact, each year, a huge amount of budget has been allocated to novel research in science by every nation either developing or developed one. The world technology competition gets more and more intense in the last several years, which results in many advanced discoveries and inventions such as artificial intelligent robots. Therefore, scientific subjects are taken more consideration in education, which leads to the neglect in literature -based ones. While the redeeming features of learning science are widely acknowledged, that of literature should not be ignored, particularly in provoking students ’ patriotism. Learning history events in written documents, students will get a firm grasp of the civilization of the countries as well as a strong sense of historical identity. For example, the twelfth graders in Vietnam are taught about the Independence Declaration written by President Ho Chi Minh, which marked an important milestone in the Vietnamese war of national liberation. Hence, highschool students may take great pride in their country and treasure the present freedom as it is an expense of blood, sweat and tears of the previous generations, which urges them to contribute more for the national abundance. To conclude, It is undeniable that literature can act as a precursor in arousing student’s patriotic sentiment. In conclusion, although literature has not been taken into consideration because of the domination of technology and science subjects, this subject is still of vital importance for highschool students in building their concrete sense of patriotism.