Some people believe that it is best for people to be honest at all times. Others, however, believe that it is occasionally necessary to lie. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

These days, there are presumptions like it is necessary to always be truthful and it is for ones own well-being only. However, the rest argues that it is not always required. In my opinion, I partially agree with the given statements. To begin with, primarily the major merit of being honest is it builds credibility for us among others. Thereafter, people would have good morale towards us all the time. Moreover, it develops dedication and accountability in persons who practice it and allows them to accomplish many achievements. For example, Mother Teresa is the person whom everyone looks up to and consider her as their role model which is because of the way she lead her life and it also enabled humans to develop trust in her. So, there are a plethora of reasons why humans should be honest. On the other hand, firstly, the foremost advantage of not being truthful all the time is it prevents us from being taken for granted by others. Secondly, the end result of being good is not always positive and also under certain circumstances it is better to lie than be the other way around. For instance, a friend of mine who is an employee once could not go to the office on time because he had to take his child shopping. However, if this was given as an excuse to his employer he would get fired and this would only yield negative results rather than beneficial ones. Thus, not just the character but the circumstances must also be given due diligence. In conclusion, though citizens dispute that humans should necessarily be true all the time it is not possible in today's world where everyone just looks after themselves and no one cares about their peers. As a result, lying becomes crucial in certain places.