Some people think that all children should learn about history at school. Others however, believe that other subjects are more relevant to children’s lives today. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Schools are places where children are taught manners,discipline and how to behave well in society.So the subjects that children learn play a vital role in this.These subjects act as a base and provide a foundation for their further studies. Children should learn about history at school while this must not affect other subjects.In this essay, we will discuss how the advantages of learning other topics outweigh learning history. Firstly,it is not mandatory for everyone to know about the history as past is past.But one should have a basic knowledge about their nation and its struggle for independence. For example,it is enough for every Indian to realise how we got freedom by knowing the key events and the key leaders like Gandhi,Nehru etc.There is no need to go deep and learn.Of course, one can know more but that is out of their personal interest. Secondly,there is no point in remembering all the dates. For instance,the great genius Einstein questioned the need to remember all the dates while they were already present in books. Finally,the past does not reflect today.Past is different from today because of globalisation.So learning history does not help one to deal with the modern stuff.Learning things that are relevant to today like science that can introduce them to the modern,scientific world. However,learning history has its benefits.It helps one to connect more deeply to one's nation.It helps the public to be more cooperative and help each other in times of need. For example,knowing the sacrifices made by great leaders like Subhash Chandra Bose,Chandra Sekhar Azad to gain freedom for our country,India, increases the respect towards the country and strengthen the bond between the folks. Additionally,we can learn how to handle some situations more wisely by a careful observation of history. In my opinion,more focus should be present on modern issues rather than the old ones as they no longer apply to the present world. For example,we studied wars as kids between the kings.But we don't have any kings these days and we follow a democratic rule. To conclude, children should be taught about history in a limited matter.They should not be forced to remember all the dates,memorise them,produce them in the exam paper.Kids should be taught more relevant topics.