Some people believe government should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Traffic jams and lengthy journeys are increasingly frustrated for modern citizens. Regarding the two solutions--building underground systems or larger road spaces, there is a case on two sides of the debate as we will discuss now. One method to relieve the congestion is to enlarge the road space for private vehicles. What can be seen in most major cities is the increasing number of cars on the existing roads. Widen the space means more lane options so that cars won't be stuck in limited traffic lanes. It seems that bottlenecks could largely be avoided. However, road expansion may occupy areas that could have other building plans. For example, in some metropolitan cities, plantation areas on the roadsides are removed due to road enlargement plans, leading to more emissions and pollutant particles that could not be sucked at once and thus contaminate the environment. The other option is that funds or investments should be put on developing higher capacity transports including railway and tube systems. Firstly,more people migrate from the hinterland to urban areas, most of which could not afford to buy a private vehicle. An expanded public transport can largely reduce the traffic pressure resulting from overcrowding population, which have successfully been done in Tokyo, London. Secondly, conurbations all suffer from emissions by fossil-fueled cars. Better infrastructure in railway lines and underground systems may raise public environmental awareness and ease the contamination. For instance, city dwellers in Beijing are now promoted by tax incentives to take underground, helping ease the traffic emissions. Finally, underground systems are less affected by conditions including bad weather, construction or governmental use. Passengers are more likely to reach destinations in time when compared with driving cars. To sum up, road construction may affect an overall city plan while public transportation could largely help ease the congestion and enhance public awareness of protecting the environment.