With rise of e-books comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this is as a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Technological advancements have changed the way life was run. One of them is the digitalisation of books which caused the downward trend in hard copy based publications. While a few people feel that it is not safe for the future, others, including me, think that is the way forward. There are certain benefits and drawbacks to this transformation. In this essay, I will discuss both in detail and provide necessary examples to strengthen my view. There are two key negative impacts of the aforementioned trend. The first and the foremost one is the increased usage of gadgets, which is detrimental to the health of people. The latest statistics revealed by the WHO, for instance, about prevailing diseases such as eye-sight, dizziness are the result of electronic journal reading. Apart from that, the culture of paper-based book reading is on the verge of closure, which was proven to be one of the critical factors to improve the cognitive ability of children. There are pieces of stronger evidence by ancient scientists to promote printed publications as they have the strength to connect the reader to the subject. Despite the above-stated disadvantages, the two important advantages are encouraging to adapt the digital copy reading. Primarily, the environment is safeguarded to a greater extent by stopping deforestation. It's a fact that the production of physical hard copy publications is extracted from trees. A cubic foot of tree produce is required, for example, to generate a good quality paper. In addition to that, the ease of carrying an electronic copy with the emerged internet usage has an edge over the printed novels. The world statistics of internet usage, for instance, has proved that the adoption percentage of digital copies is way beyond expectations in recent past years. To conclude, the increased use of electronic books has reduced the usage of paper-based books. A few people view this as a positive step towards a better future, however, others defer it. There are drawbacks to the above-mentioned phenomenon, but I believe that the advantages are more welcoming to encourage it because it is saving the environment to a larger level.