In many countries plastic shopping bags are the main type of rubbish. They cause water and land pollution, so they should be banned. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, plastic bags are commonly used in shops or supermarkets and become trouble with water and land pollution. Some suggested that it should be banned to mitigate environmental problems. In my opinion, it could be an effective way to reduce the number of plastic bags and directly prevent the issues of pollution. First of all, the number of plastic bags is enormous and hazardous to the environment. A recent study showed that millions of tons of plastic bags are used in Hong Kong daily since they are indecomposable and contain poisonous components, which could be caused soil contamination. Moreover, some plastic bags or wrapping are thrown into the sea, which could tremendously threaten the ocean habitat. This is because those cabbages are mistakenly ingested by fish or turtles; since they cannot digest the plastics, as a result, caused their death. To avoid this circumstance, it is important to impose a law to regulate plastic bag usage. Although there are some considerable policies implemented in some countries for instance imposing a plastic bag tax in Hong Kong, it still has no significant effect on reducing the plastic bags. Thus, it is necessary to use strong measures to control the usage of plastic bags. Once the law is imposed, it creates incentives for companies or customers to use alternatives to replace plastic bags. In conclusion, the influences of plastics are serious and can no longer turn a blind eye to them, particularly in water and land pollution. Therefore, strong and strict means should be used which as imposing the law to ban the plastic bag.