Nowadays, some parents put a lot of pressure on their children. What are the reasons for parents doing that? Is this a positive or negative development for the children?

Granted that parents do expect their children to lead a successful life, they put them under constant pressure to perform. Generally, I believe that being under such intense pressure can have serious consequences in multiple areas for children.  Many children are taught to compete with each other from their earliest memory so as to survive and to excel. It is true that stiff competition begins from primary school where students have to begin to remain good academic performance in order to enter a prestigious university later on. Protecting children from heart-breaking rejections is a parents’ special privilege believed by many. However, sometimes they hold the expectations too high for children to live up to.  One major adverse consequence of imposing too much pressure on children is that they may easily form a negative attitude to learning, which will exert a life-long impact. Many parents have a distorted recognition that the purpose of receiving an education is simply to guarantee a future career, and therefore gaining an edge in the job market is the only goal that motivates children to work hard. In this case, examinations are widely used as the sole educational assessment to evaluate the learning process, and children focus only on what is likely to be tested; thus, the educational experience is narrowed to a large extent, which can easily discourage the interest in learning.  Another disastrous influence is that children who are under a high amount of stress are at a greater risk of developing depression or other mental or physical health conditions. When children are dealing with the constant goal-setting by parents, they are digesting high levels of anxiety. Fear of failure can stop them from taking up new tasks or even completing the ones at hand. It can create unhealthy defiance that  leads to self-doubt or even unsatisfied adulthood. Issues, such as sleep deprivation, eating disorders, and loss of interest in hobbies are all among the consequences of excess stress. Hence, parental pressure may bring forth a nervous breakdown. To conclude, although a secure family environment is considered a bare necessity for the healthy growth and development of children, there is a fine line between caring and caring too much.