Many of the products we buy nowadays break or wear out very quickly. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this for manufacturers and the public?

People use all sorts of products in their daily life. Some of these products are reliable and durable. However, some products break easily and wear out over a short period of time. There are both advantages and disadvantages of their products. There are products that are of high cost and bought as a long term investment like cars and furniture. A product should work for longer if it is expensive. A sofa, for example, is an expensive investment. It is furniture that should last longer and if it breaks down easily, it can cost a lot of money. We can not afford to replace their products every year or even every five years. So, the manufactures should make sure their products last longer and are under warranty so they can be replaced within a budget. This can be expensive for the company as it will cost them labour, high-quality pieces, and quality checks. However, it is their responsibility to provide high-quality quality products if the price is high. However, there are products that are low in cost. If these products break down over a short period of time, they can be replaced easily. For example, a drinking water bottle which we can buy just for a fraction of money can be of cheap quality. If it starts to leak or is defective in any way, it can simply be bought again. These products do not cost a fortune and therefore we do not mind spending a few bucks. It is also beneficial for the producer as these products are cheaper to make and have big revenue. In conclusion, products have now become less durable and are often required to be replaced which can cost a large sum of money. Especially products that are expensive, these products should be made sturdy by companies, and a warranty and replacement in case of wear and tear must also be provided.