In the modern world, schools are no longer necessary because there is so much information available through the internet that children can study as well at the home. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

In today's world, people can access all types of information online. Some laud that, this advancement might make the contemporary mode of teaching obsolete. Having said that, I disagree with the averred statement and opine that, notwithstanding the positive impact of the internet, schools are essential for every child's mental, physical and social development and therefore, they are irreplaceable. This essay will elucidate the said agreement. First and most importantly, Education institutions are built not only to promote education but also to inculcate the sense of well being in the children. Moreover, they embed discipline and a sense of responsibility in their students; the trait which cannot be bestowed through technology. For instance, kids often face detentions for their bad conduct and similarly, are rewarded for their achievements, thereby, building a sense of accountability and responsibility in them. In addition, kids generate a unique bond of friendship amongst themselves and learn to socialise with their peers which is a remarkable social skill and cannot be generated through computers. Admittedly, the impact of technology is significant and people can access anything at the swipe of their fingers. However, the positive impact of the traditional mode of studies, as mentioned above, outweighs the said ease of access. Like, children would need constant supervision, if they are left alone with the internet because of unlimited reach to data, however the same is not required when they are at school as there are teachers to do the same. Nevertheless, an online mode of teaching (which we experienced during the current pandemic) can bridge the gap between the averred dispute, but the same can only be considered as an alternative and not a permanent solution. In conclusion, it is safe to state that data available online is essential for good knowledge, however, the social and psychological development in the younger generation can only be introduced through the traditional way of teaching.