In today's world, people spend a lot of money on appearance because they want to look younger. Why does this happen? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In this day and age, society places pressure on individuals to have a good looking. Therefore, many spend a large amount of money on cosmetic purposes to make themselves look young. However, I am convinced that this is a detrimental trend. To begin with, there are many possible causes resulting in adults wanting to look younger. Firstly, the main reason is that advertisements from cosmetic companies, using young models as presenters, mislead people's thoughts about the fact that beauty means youth. For example, individuals tend to buy skincare products after young celebrities hoping that their skin will be healthy like those influencers despite the fact that those influencers are so much younger than them. Secondly, another reason is that people love to be admired by others for their beauty. It is a fact that when getting older individuals tend to feel insecure with their appearance, so many decide to buy costly cosmetic products or even undergo plastic surgery to look younger. Personally, I believe that the increasing demand of adults wanting to look young is a negative movement, as this can be harmful to their health, both physically and mentally. For instance, there was always news about people passing away from undergoing unnecessary plastic surgery. Moreover, this has a negative effect on anyone who experiences their ages naturally, as they might lose their self-confidence when comparing themselves with others. In conclusion, while the trend of people wanting to have a youthful appearance is potentially caused by the influence of advertisements and the individuals’ need to be praised, I am of the opinion that this is undesirable progress, especially in terms of damaging people ’s physical and mental health.