Some people believe that a country will benefit greatly if its students study abroad. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Studying overseas is believed by some people to be beneficial to the student’s home country. From my perspective, although there is a potential risk of a brain drain, students who study overseas make great financial and intellectual contributions to their countries and therefore I completely agree with the idea. The main concern over studying abroad is the fact that some international students might not consider returning to their countries upon finishing their courses. Opponents of the idea argue that the loss of human capital as a result of students leaving permanently might negatively affect a country’s overall development. However, the argument fails to take into account the fact that positive intellectual exchange might give rise to brain circulation, the situation in which the flow of skilled labour circulates among nations, and thus students are able to make positive impacts on all of the nations they are involved in. Furthermore, students upon return have brought with them the much-needed capital, innovative ideas and economic contributions to their countries. This is particularly the case for developing ones. For example, every year ‘Haigui’, the term coined to refer to successful Chinese students returning to Mainland China, have sent home a huge sum of remittances to support their families. In addition, labourers graduating from overseas have profoundly changed the economic facets of the country by becoming the assets of big corporations. Many of them also establish their own successful startups in the technology sector using the advanced training in this field, which is more common in developed countries. In conclusion, it is my firm conviction that studying abroad is a welcomed force for good, especially for developing countries. It is not an overstatement to say that overseas students, with the profound contributions they have brought home, are instrumental in the well-rounded development of a country.