Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. However, it is longer the main form of transport. What are the reasons? What could be done to encourage the use of bicycles among the wider population?

There is no doubt that while cycling is one of the most environmentally friendly means of transport than others, it is, unfortunately, not still a dominant travelling mode. This essay will explore a number of possible factors behind this and suggest some ideas to make this transport widely come into play among popularities. Of all the various components which lead to the less use of the bicycle, one is its weaknesses in mobility compared to most modern transports. For instance, travelling much faster with moto vehicles and metros are is more convenient for trips within cities while fast-speed trams, planes are more time-saving for long-distance journeys. Furthermore, if people use bikes for main communication vehicles, it may be impossible due to physical requirements. In order to promote cycling, the provision of cyclist-friendly facilities might be the first and foremost step to make people make a change. For example, paving cycling lanes on main roads and cycling tracks in public parks is likely to deal with cyclists' safety while they are going through fast-moving vehicles. The second proposition could be the raise of citizens' awareness about the benefits of cycling. For more details, governments can take some healthy policies into account, or frequently hold local or international cycling competitions around the country. As a result, the citizen will gradually decide to adopt this kind of means. In conclusion, although time-efficiency, conveniences might contribute to the less prevalence of bicycles, safety, and the encouragement of authorities can persuade people to adapt with bicycles.