Some people believe that if a police force carries guns, this encourages a higher level of violence in that society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There is a controversial notion heating a debate over guns being carried by policemen. Some people claim that a higher level of violence in society is attributed to this action. While this thinking is valid to some extent, I would contend that this policy would do more good than harm. Doubtlessly, it is irrefutable that the police force bringing guns brings about tremendous benefits to society. In those areas where armed criminals are rampant, having such weapons would allow police to protect ordinary citizens and themselves from potential attacks.It gives the police the leverage in their combat against criminals, especially those hardened perpetrators. The police force in Norway can be cited as a compelling example. Previously, the Norway police force was not armed with guns while doing patrols. However, after a destructive attack of the IS terrorist, this has not been the case anymore. Hence, firearms are of necessity because it serves as a deterrent to would-be offenders. Although the redeeming features of armed policemen are widely acknowledged, it is irrefutable that policemen carrying guns could increase the potential of a miscarriage of justice and mistaken shootings of innocent civilians. Even though the legislation has been enforced to protect citizens from torture or cruel treatment, if the police are armed, they also protect their rights on using guns. Therefore, the police will be less likely to think twice before pulling the trigger when they see someone as a potential threat. Moreover, they could easily get away with private execution by inventing a legitimate excuse, such as self-defence. Hence, the armed police cause a chaotic fear in peaceful communities. In conclusion, gun possession by the police will not only decrease the number of violent criminals but also contribute to the protection of the public if used correctly.