Today more people are overweight than ever before. What is your opinion, are the primary causes of this? What are the main effects of this epidemic?

Nowadays, one of the main problems people face is increased body weight, resulting in many associated risks. In my opinion, such an issue is primarily caused due to adoption of unhealthy eating habits. This essay will firstly examine various reasons that cause overweight, and secondly, its adverse effects will be discussed. To begin with, many youngsters are more inclined to unhealthy eating habits, and the possible reason is the advertisements shown in a compelling manner, urging the consumers to try them. Moreover, many youths follow their favourite celebrities blindly in the food product advertisement they appear in. For instance, a top model in India recently appeared in one of the aerated drink brands, and there was a considerable increase in its purchase which was not the case prior to this publicity. In addition to the above, many buy food packages looking at only the fancy key ingredients mentioned in the package; chances are these products may not be effective enough for health. On the other hand, if people today continue to consume junk meals, its consequence will be observed in the generations to come. To elaborate, consuming a less nutritional and high carbohydrate diet is responsible for excess body weight, which in turn causes some debilitating health hazards, sometimes leading to even death. For example, many youths consume street eateries loaded with unhealthy fats, leading to diarrhoea and vomiting. Furthermore, long term consumption of such meals can have devastating effects on the body, causing severe issues like cancer in the coming future. In conclusion, being overweight is one of the severe problems caused by factors like unhealthy eating habits. Its long-term effects can be seen in the form of deteriorating health leading to obesity and heart diseases.