Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty, while others say that economic growth is damaging the environment so it should be stopped. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Level: Medium

While many people often argue that boosting economy is the only solution for the hunger and poverty crisis, others believe that the growth of the economy exerts negative impacts on the environment, therefore, it should be stemmed. There are valid arguments on both sides which I will discuss now. On the one hand, there is a plethora number of reasons why people side with the idea that improving the economy should be stopped. Perhaps the main reason is that the ever-increasing demand for industrial development leads to the building of high-rise blocks and other facilities emitting a huge number of carbon dioxide which is the key contributor for the climate change. Furthermore, economic growth means that people can earn enough money to cover their basic needs and lead a higher standard of living, therefore, they can afford a huge amount of clothes at the same time and these clothes often end up being discarded into landfills which pose a threat to the land. However, despite of the drawbacks I mentioned above, I believe that economic development brings more good than harm. One of the biggest advantages is that people will have a better standard of living thanks to the abundance of job opportunities. For example: nations with strong economies can create more jobs for their citizens meaning that people do not need to struggle to make a living. Another advantage is the improvement in the agricultural sector. By investing a huge amount of money into agricultural sector, more and more food will be produced and feed to people. This in turn might help to put an end to the hunger crisis. In conclusion, In spite of the drawbacks linked to the economic improvement, it seems to me that improving the well-being of a nation is the most effective way to deal with hunger and poverty issues.