In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Advertising is a huge part of the media culture nowadays, leaving a lot of impact on customers. These days, it is a common practice for companies to try to stand out with the innovation of their products while advertising. This essay will discuss what the reasons for that may be and explain why this is a rather negative situation. Making a large profit is vital to owning a business, so companies are constantly looking for ways to do this through advertising. It is a natural assumption to think that customers will opt for a more innovative product, as we live in a rapidly advancing world. This may be one of the reasons why businesses advertise the new things their goods can offer. Furthermore, a product emphasised as more innovative or upgraded in some way may make a company stand out amongst its competitors. Not only does this provide more opportunities for income, but it builds a better name for the company in the world of business. In my view, the constant emphasis on what is new in a product has more drawbacks than advantages. Firstly, such advertising costs a lot of money, which can be invested in the actual quality of the product instead. For example, lots of people have been mislead by commercials showcasing an item as very innovative, while it is actually nothing special. This brings us to the other argument, which is about the exaggeration of the advancement of the product that comes with putting the focus on it. In an attempt for their goods to stand out on the market, businesses often overpraise how innovative they are, thus failing to meet the expectations of the customers. To summarise, the advertising of a product is crucial to how successful it will be on the market. However, companies need to be careful not to exaggerate too much when emphasising on the innovation of their goods.