In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why do you think this might be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

A person’s home is an essential part of their life, as it not only provides a roof over their head, but determines their lifestyle. Choosing whether to buy or rent their home is a decision everyone is entitled to, but in some regions, owning the place where one lives is preferred. This essay will discuss the reasons for this may be and express my opinion about the situation. The causes for the importance of owning a home in these countries can be looked at from an economic or a cultural perspective. First of all, it is more financially sound to buy your home, as it is a secure investment. Estate ownership is proven to bring equity to its owner over time, and citizens from states who are generally financially stable have a lot of benefits from that. Secondly, purchasing a house or an apartment rather than renting it is represented in some states as a key to happiness. In the USA, for example, society is touted to believe that owning a home is a step towards living one’s dream life. Both renting and buying a property have advantages and drawbacks, but I find lots of benefits in the preference of the people in those region towards owning a home. As mentioned, this way of living provides more stability, and therefore states, where people prefer to buy their housing, have lower levels of homelessness. Because of this, such lands use more of their workforce and advance easier economically. Another thing is that people who own their homes are more likely to stay in one neighbourhood for a longer time and form bonds with others. This develops theirs sense of community and makes them more interested in matters relating to their social group, thus popularizing civic engagement. To summarize, owning a home is given a lot of importance in some countries, and that may be caused by their cultural mindset or by tangible reasons, such as larger personal income in the future. In my view, purchasing an estate property than renting it is a rather positive situation, as it is beneficial to the sense of community of the population and the overall economic state of the country.