The government should spend more money on medical research to protect citizens’ health rather than on protecting the environment. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a controversial notion heating a debate over the funding of the government budget. A school of thought claims that government should finance medical research to protect citizen’ health instead of funding for protecting the environment. Although this idea is valid to some certain extent, I do not totally agree with this. It is undisputed that government should use their coffer to fund for medical research to protect residents’ health because of several reasonable reasons. Obviously, there are many strange pandemics posing a strong threat to human health currently, which may not have a suitable therapy to cure. For example, the Covid-19 virus, which exacerbates directly to human’s lungs, has killed a million people all around the world in recent 2 years. However, this disease has not had the specific medicine to treat. Therefore, the government has to raise funds for scientists to research more novel medicine to protect human’s health. Nevertheless, environmental protection also needs government funding due to some relevant reasons. Evidently, there are an eclectic mix of environmental issues which deteriorate the environmental quality. For instants, a few years ago, the Formosa company in Ha Tinh, Viet Nam discharged their untreated wastewater straightly to the ocean’s surface, which wreak strong havoc on marine creatures. Thus, the government should use their budget to fund dealing with these dire problems. To sum up, the government should spend their coffer to fund both medical research and environmental protection. However, they have to balance these things to avoid a deficit in their budget.