As computers and technology develop, they can be used to teach children and teachers won’t be necessary soon. Do you agree or disagree?

In a highly technological world these days, it is believed that the roles of teachers can be totally replaced by the domination of computers and technologies. However, I strongly argue that computers and technological devices can just support teachers whose roles are still of vital importance in any educational system in the world. First of all, I hold a firm belief that teachers always play an indispensable role in teaching children no matter how fast technology develops. In fact, education is not only about teaching children new knowledge so that they can be well prepared for their future jobs, but it seems to bring more valuable benefits for society since whether people can become good citizens who obey the laws or not depends mainly on the role of teachers. In comparison with computers, students who have direct interactions with teachers can develop in a more holistic way, especially in social and emotional aspects. Provided that young learners were completely taught by interactive computer programs, they would seem to spend all their time communicating with artificial intelligence instead of with real-life people. As a result, they cannot have good communication skills which are useful and essential in real workplaces in the future. In addition, although I cannot deny the logic and effectiveness of a curriculum designed by computers, I am still convinced that technologies should only be considered as facilitators for teachers. In many school practices, having a fixed syllabus is not suitable for students at every level. There is no doubt that learners have different levels of knowledge acquisition and study pace, so it is teachers that can personalize and care about some special cases. Besides, with weak students, learning with computers can make them demotivated sometimes, which cannot be limited with the immediate support and encouragement from teachers. Having said that, as useful teaching facilities, computers and technologies also greatly contribute to making students’ learning process more interesting and reducing the amount of paperwork for teachers. In conclusion, because of the aforementioned reasons, I argue that the roles of teachers in education are irreplaceable, even by modern computers and technological breakthroughs which should just be deemed as supporters for teachers in educating children.