A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In this modern era, people in our societies tend to judge each other by social status and personal possessions instead of moral values. This essay agrees with the aforementioned statement and provides reasons to support this point of view before its conclusion is reached. To begin with, most of people evaluate one another by a first glance which appears on their outside look. When individuals set eyes on anybody else, the first thing that they see is how one dresses, or what kind of accessories one has. For instance, a plethora of salesmen in luxury stores will welcome the customer with an elegant dress more than one with a shabby dress. They are inclined to think that the more classy ones look, the wealthier ones are. This happens because a person cannot reach of ones’ mind, thus they do not know whether those individuals are generous or selfish. Consequently, people cannot avoid being judged by external looks. In addition, social status is one of the points that people grade each other. The way individuals earn a living or how much salary they get will be the crucial factors for rating the level of a person you are in and society seems to treat one another in different ways, based on their social position. For example, in Thai society, high-paid jobs such as doctors, lawyers, and businessmen are the most popular occupation among young people, since they know that if they can be in these positions, they will get so many advantages regarding respectfulness from others. In conclusion, unfortunately, ethics or morals are being thrown away in this materialistic world. People seem to judge a book by its cover, which means the first impression is everything and the different levels of social status people are in, will reflect the ways they will be treated.