People in big cities are facing many health challenges due to a high level of air pollution. What causes air pollution in big cities? Can you suggest some ways to deal with this situation?

The overall health of folks residing in metropolitan cities is degrading, which is caused by the increased volume of polluted air in the environment. Since the past decade or so there is an exponential surge seen in many health-related issues such as asthma and lung cancer. The chief reason for this problem is the urbanization and improved financial conditions of people, however we can combat this situation by using alternative methods instead of fossil fuels and encouraging the use of public transport. To begin with, megacities are getting highly populated, which had led to traffic problems and congestion on the roads and more pollution emission by the vehicles struck on the roads. Secondly, due to the improved financial status of the community, there is the multiplication of vehicles and hence the exponential surge in environmental contamination. For instance, according to the survey done by the Indian government, an increase in the financial status of the citizens in the past decade has shown to be directly linked to the increasingly high level of air pollution. To combat these dangerously increasing levels of air contamination, we as the concerning community should take some serious decisions. Fossil fuels should be replaced with organic gas, which is cheaper as well as less harmful to the lungs of humans. The government should promote the use of public transport and make society aware of the detrimental effects of pollution. For example, the government can make the transportation departments better and decrease the prices of tickets to allure crowd. In conclusion, as the cities are expanding due to urbanization the problem of air contamination is also continuously growing with it, hence, the alternate use of fossils and awareness is the key to reducing this growth in contaminated air and enhancing the overall health of the human beings.