In order to alive traffic problems, government should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportiong. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Nowadays, the amount of private transport, such as cars, have been suffering a sharp increase. However, the automobilist infra-structure didn't follow the same rate. One solution that came up for some countries is the application of an extra tariff for the ones who choose to have a private vehicle. This essay will discuss the pros and cons related to this matter. During the last few years, private transports had turned much more affordable. Recent research shows that the price of a middle-class car decreased an average of 45% in the prior 10 years. The positive impact of this path goes from the growth of a more convenient, comfortable and secure mobility lifestyle, to the escalated amount of jobs that the factory of private cars involves. The appliance of an additional tax over private holders could cause retrocession in all these benefits, once fewer people would be able to afford this good. One of the negative impacts could be, for example, the increase in the unemployment rate. Nevertheless, lesser people using individual cars, would bright the necessity of better infrastructure for public transportation, reaching a point that the use of shared transports intent to turn more suitable and inexpensive than a private one. For example, Berlin is a city that invested so much in buses and railways, that the number of cars seen on the street are lesser than in Malta. In conclusion, based on all the reasons mentioned above, I would state that there is a huge advantage in tax private car holders to invest in public auto infra-structure.