In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Some think this is good, while others believe this is a problem for a country. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The ratio of elderly people in many countries is constantly rising. Although some support the view this is good, others think in the opposite way. In my opinion, the youth must be a predominant category of states' residents. This essay will discuss both sides of the given problem. Firstly, I would like to discuss the opinion I personally disagree with, which says that an increasing proportion of old people is not that bad. It can be argued that aged citizens contribute to saving the traditions and customs, although not all of them are commonly followed. For instance, a rich cultural heritage of Spain exists only due to the knowledge and wisdom of the older generations. Saving the nation's history is necessary and that is why some would say that discussing trends are great. Secondly, let's take a look at the view I agree with: believing that a big number of old persons is a problem. The more people are at the age of retirement the more employers start to lack a workforce, therefore, an economic crisis may happen in future. For example, the economy of countries which population is mostly young grows faster and is generally stable to the highest extent. Big amount of retired men and women is definitely a serious issue for the region's demographical situation. In conclusion, the economy may face significant problems if its population mostly comprises of old persons, although their life experience helps to nurture the youth and this is one of the arguments of the opposing side. To my mind, governments should encourage married couples to raise a child to change the trends.