In the past, people stored knowledge in books. Nowadays, people store knowledge on the internet. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is undeniable that knowledge storage on the internet has grown in popularity. Despite some obvious disadvantages of this trend, I would argue that these are exceeded by the advantages. On the one hand, using the internet to keep knowledge brings to mind certain negative points. Firstly, the reliability of information on the web is not guaranteed. It is a fact that anything can be posted on the internet without verification. For example, Google allows any users to be able to post or adjust information freely on the web. It leads to many unreliable sources which deliver inaccurate knowledge, making it hard for an average user to differentiate between true and false information. Secondly, digital piracy is another problem when it comes to online knowledge storage. Indeed, e- books are easily copied and leaked with a wide variety of versions, which allows people to read with a cheaper fee in comparison with paper books, or no fee. As a result, illegal distribution is difficult to control and causes the publishing industry to lose millions of dollars every year. On the other hand, I believe that the benefits are more significant than such disadvantages. One reason for this view is that people easily access knowledge with a device connected to the internet. Google Drive, for instance, has grown in popularity in keeping documents that enables people to access information immediately whenever and wherever with a couple of mouse clicks. That is cheaper, much more convenient and time-saving compared to looking for the same amount of knowledge from paper books. Another reason is that online knowledge storage helps to reduce a large number of papers used to print books. Actually, papers are made from trees, leading to cutting down a substantial quantity of trees in order to create printed books. In contrast, ebooks enable us to eliminate this situation, which is a contributing factor to reducing deforestation. Consequently, digital books are environmentally-friendly that cannot be seen in paper books. In conclusion, it seems to me that the advantages of keeping knowledge via the internet outweigh the disadvantages.