While people in developing countries are happier than in the past, people in developed countries are less happy. Why? What can be learnt from this?

Despite current progress in economic and social development, citizens in developed nations are reportedly less happy than in the past. In contrast, their counterparts in less developed ones seem to enjoy a rise in happiness. There are various reasons for this phenomenon, from which numerous lessons can be drawn. There are many factors leading to this situation. Regarding the developing countries, it is undeniable that rapid growth of economy and urbanization is a primary reason why happiness is surging in these nations. Along with this development, it expands more job opportunities than in the past that helps residents have stable incomes. This has resulted in facilitating citizens' living conditions, hence an overall rise in the sense of fulfillment with delight, which is considered as an element contributing to higher life expectancy of human beings. As a result, economic development and urbanization play an important part in human well-being. Regarding the developed nations, due to rapid industrialization, they nowadays have to face severe environmental problems. In particular, environmental pollution leads to negative impacts on human health, especially respiratory diseases. That can explain why residents in wealthy countries are no longer satisfied although they are materially affluent. From this circumstance, it can deduce two valuable lessons regarding happiness. Firstly, financial sufficiency is crucial when it comes to human well-being and happiness. Without money, people have to live in poverty, leading to having to work excessively hard to earn a living. As a consequence, people tend to put under constant pressure, thus cannot live as happily as those who are financially stable. Secondly, in addition to economic development, other different fields of people's life should also have equal investment. Especially, governments should pay more attention to the environment in order to restrict negative impacts of environmental pollution on citizen's health. In conclusion, some reasons can be explained why inhabitants in developing and developed nations have different levels of happiness, from which it has two precious lessons that economic development and environmental protection is crucial to boost human well-being.