All over the world, societies are facing a growing problem with obesity. This problem affects both children and adult. What are the reasons for this rise in obesity, How could it be tackled?

One of the most common health issues found in all age groups in this modern world is obesity. A key contributor to this problem is the lack of physical exercise, and it can likely be solved by creating public awareness and an award system. Physical activity plays a huge role in maintaining a healthy weight. However, people are physically less active nowadays. Before children have smartphones and tablets, they play physical games and participate in the various outdoor games at school and even during the school holidays. However, they play online games or use smartphones instead. Similarly, although adults used to have to walk or ride a bicycle to their offices in the old days, they can now conveniently drive to their workplaces or call for a taxi pickup service from home. They used to have to walk to meal places but they can now place a meal order which will be delivered to their home. Less physically active people tend to be overweight. One way to reduce obesity is to make people aware of the problems that obese people would face. Obesity is not just about body weight but it also affects people's well-being. Overweight people are very likely to have other health issues such as hypertension, diabetes and even cardiovascular problems. In addition, being overweight affects people's mental state, as they will be less confident in their physical appearance, and they might also face difficulty in finding clothes to fit them. Government should create awareness through different media and also encourage people to stay fit by awarding those who meet fitness goals. For one thing, the Singapore government awards people who walk at least ten thousand steps a day by giving them some sort of voucher. In conclusion, obesity has become more and more common in both children and adults. Governments should tackle this problem before it causes people to get chronic diseases and affects the countries' population.