Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are people who believe that merchandising is an effective way to make people purchase goods, on the other hand, there are the ones who don't agree with it, due to the large number of offers that we receive daily. This essay will discuss both points of view and give my optical perspective about this matter. The modern world faces a sharp increase of companies dedicated to the most variety of business, from the big corporations to the micro establishments. For example, during the middle ages, a city would have just one butcher, one shoemaker, and so on. This structure is different nowadays. To advertise is a way to highlight a product over others, and that is crucial for the success of a business due to the higher amount of competition within the market made. As people say "Who is not seem, is not remembered", and, in this sense, the advertisement is an effective way to have a product in the mind of the public. Nevertheless, we have been boosted with so much information, coming from everywhere, such as outdoors, pop-ups in our mobiles, that most of them just pass in front of our eyes without catching our attention. Recent research with 890 participants showed that around 78% of the virtual advertisements had less than 0.5% of retention. This data can indicate that our mind is overloaded with a higher amount of stimulus and is incapable of focusing on everything. As a result, businesses don't get the proportional return in clients, based on what they invested in merchants. In conclusion, admittedly advertising is an effective way to induce people to buy things, however, not all companies are having the expected financial returning of sales when compared with the investments made in advertises. I strongly believe in the effectiveness of this strategy of selling, and think that a way to tackle the problem of not effective selling is to have an innovative and creative approach to the products sold, leading to the expected monetary return.