Some countries achieve international success by building specialized facilities to train top athletes instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

For the sake of achieving success on the international stage, some nations utilize specialized facilities and professional training methods to foster the most excellent athletes rather than build basic sports apparatus for the public. In my aspect, burning money only for a few top players is a negative method of development. To begin with, those particular setups are expensive, putting a tremendous burden on the budget of the government. Splurging on sports infrastructures may cause limited spending on social welfare fields, for instance, possibly resulting in insufficient funds in education, medical system, transportation and so on, which are the areas more beneficial to lift the living standards of residents than just a few gold medals prized by Olympic Games as intense training of athletes by best facilities. What's more, this behaviour totally disrespects the spirit of sports and gives citizens a wrong concept. That is to say,the original aim at holding international sports is addressing the importance of sports. Thus, that countries train athletes to get awards in international athletic competitions is not for the awards themselves but the concept which attracts everyone in their country to strengthen their bodies and participate in such activities. Besides, citizens as taxpayers are also the investors of these sports facilities, but they do not enjoy free fitness equipment in their daily life, Meanwhile, the state spends quantities of financial budgets on professional participants. For numerous people, if they cannot gain direct benefits, it means that the government will not collect taxes on the people, increasing complaints and dissatisfaction with the government. In conclusion, even though governments concentrate their financial resources to provide professional sports infrastructures for excellent sportspersons, which is conducive to winning international sporting events, it causes misunderstanding and dissatisfaction among citizens as well. Therefore, I think this is a negative trend from the perspective of the overall development and stability of the country.